Unpleasant job & strange responses

I have to do one of the most common jobs as an intern…not that I have nothing else better to do, but the company needed help. Bah. Nope, I’m not a paper feeder nor am I the coffee-girl. I was asked to carry out a short telephone-based survey on the usage of handphones among the people in Malaysia. Bleagh. It’s not a task within my job scope, but what to do?

This job can be really, really frustrating & hilarious at times. Below are the various responses that my friend & I encountered 🙂 Hope you’ll enjoy a laugh or two or even smile in agreement as I share this with u! Note: my ‘clients’ are not as funny as my colleague’s 😛 “Malaysia- truly Asia!”

Scenario #1
Ruth:Good morning. May I speak to <name> pls?
Respondant:Speaking…
Ruth: Sir/Maam, this is Miss Wong calling from <companyname>. We’re currently running a short survey of 5 questions on the usage of handphones among Malaysians. Could you please spare some time for this survey?
Respondent:Er…wo bu ming bai la…ni ke yi jiang hua yu mah?
Ruth: *gulp* Er…ok… (starts speaking in broken bare & minimal standard mandarin)

Scenario #2
Ruth:Good morning. May I speak to <name> pls?
Respondant:Ya, this is <name>
Ruth: Sir/Maam, this is Miss Wong calling from <companyname>. We’re currently running a short survey of 5 questions on the usage of handphones among Malaysians. Could you please spare some time for this survey?
(background: Eh, cakap bahasa inggeris lar…u tau tak??)
(another person answers the phone)
Respondant:Salah nombor la…
Ruth: Oh er..ok, takpe la. Terima kasih ye…. (hangs up, mumbles grumbles & bursts into laughter)

Scenario #3
Colleague:Hello, is this <name>?
Respondant: Ya
Colleague: Hello <name>. I’m calling from <companyname>. We are doing a survey on handphone usage. Do you have the time now?
Respondent: Ok
(asks all 5 questions)
Colleague: Ok, that’s all we have to ask <name>
Respondant: Oh. No money ar?
Colleague: Er… sorry our company don’t provide…
Respondant: Like that ar…? Then you free or not? Can come out for dinner ar??
Colleague: Huh? Sorry, I have to ask my boss first. *confused*
Respondant: No need to ask your boss; this is personal ma…
Colleague: (silence. too shocked to speak d…)
Respondant: Aiya…joking la…
Colleague:Er…ok….thank you for your time <name> (hangs up, bursts into laughter)

Scenario #4
Ruth:Good morning. May I speak to <name> pls?
Respondant:Ya…
Ruth: Sir/Maam, this is Miss Wong calling from <companyname>. We’re currently running a short survey of 5 questions on the usage of handphones among Malaysians. Could you please spare some time for this survey?
Respondant:No no no…busy busy….
Ruth:Oh ok. Thank you for your time. (hangs up, mumbles grumbles)

Scenario #5
Ruth:Good morning. May I speak to <name> pls?
Respondant:Yes speaking…
Ruth: Sir/Maam, this is Miss Wong calling from <companyname>. We’re currently running a short survey of 5 questions on the usage of handphones among Malaysians. Could you please spare some time for this survey?
Respondant: What company ar??
Ruth:<companyname>
Respondant: What ar??
Ruth:<companyname>
Respondant: What is it about ar?
Ruth: A short survey on handphone usage
Respondant: I busy lar, busy. Dont want.
Ruth:Oh ok. Thank you for your time. (hangs up, mumbles grumbles)

Scenario #6
(Ruth dials number…)
“Char siew pau, fun cheong, siew mai, lo bak ko….(the list of Hongkee food continues)”

Startled & flabbergasted, I hung up & burst into mad laughter! *rofl* 😀 The first thing we as telephone surveyors get is the variety of handphone tones that our public has. Hahaha…*shakes head* When I encounter such ring tones, I just have to hang up first & call again… *lol*Can’t imagine the taste & humor that people have 😛 Anyone for Hong Kong food?? 😉

– Ruth

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    xalimx said,

    aku nak gelak kat yg scenario ke-3 tu…(kalo aku pun wat camtu =P)
    scenario 5 = u call me when i’m sleeping and the u’ll get the answer like dat….
    scenario 2 = when i can’t understand what r u babbling about =P
    scenario 1 = wat that mean, huh???

  2. 2

    Chiew said,

    Scenario 5 looks familiar…..Is it me or just my imagination? This is very good. Keep up the good work


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

